WELCOME to my books

Is Urban Fantasy your cup of tea? Then it’s the CONRAD CLARKE / KING’S WATCH series.

Enjoy Crime? Try the DCI TOM MORTON books.

Want to know where they came from? Fancy a fast-paced conspiracy Thriller? Discover the OPERATION JIGSAW trilogy.

Did you Know the Gods can use mobile phones?

 They can, and Odin has a message for Conrad…

Conrad Clarke, former RAF pilot and alleged gangster gets a text – and a visit – from The Allfather.

Odin has a challenge for Conrad: sign up to protect England from wild magick and get a commission in the King’s Watch.

All he has to do is find a missing witch. Simple.

Conrad never could resist a challenge. Before you can say “Ragnarok”, he’s plunged into a world of gods, mages, witches, dwarves and one very aggressive giant mole.

But the witch doesn’t want to be found, and powerful mages will kill to keep her hidden. Going back isn’t an option. Going forward looks a lot like death.

Armed with nothing but a sense of humour and a willingness to cheat, Conrad has to find the Witch and save his life.

NEW: SIX FURLONGS – The Eighth Book of the King’s Watch


Six Furlongs – Eighth Book of the King’s Watch
Five Leaf Clover – Ninth Book of the King’s Watch

Discover more by clicking on the covers

Cover for the 13th Witch by Mark Hayden
The 13th Witch – The First Book of the King’s Watch
Cover for the 12 Dragons of Albion by Mark Hayden
12 Dragons – The 2nd Book of the King’s Watch
Cover and link to the 11th Hour
The 11th Hour – Third Book of the King’s Watch
TENFOLD – Fourth Book of the King’s Watch
Click the Cover to learn more
Click the Cover to learn more
The Seventh Star – 7th Book of the King’s Watch

And if you’ve read the books, you’ll know that there’s a promise of a philosophical discussion. I hate to disappoint my readers, so click on the image:

Do we have free will?

Tom Morton

Diffident and always feeling guilty about something, Tom Morton knows that he is a detective with something to prove. His promotion to DCI came with a price — he has to go where he’s sent and make the best of  a bad job.

These are Tom’s first solo cases. Click the covers for more details:

Book Cover: A Serpent in Paradise
A Serpent in Paradise

Tom is sent to the exclusive gated community of 7Bridge in Cheshire to keep the peace and soon finds himself battling to keep an innocent man out of jail when everyone else would rather lock the door and throw away the key.

Book Cover: Another Place to Die
Another Place to Die

When an alleged gangster is murdered in Southport, Tom is sent to solve a crime that no one cares about with a team of misfits that no one wants.

The new adventure, The End of Duty will be published in 2017.  Scroll down to see Tom’s earlier adventures in the Operation Jigsaw Trilogy.

Operation Jigsaw

Once Upon a Time…

My first three published novels, the Operation Jigsaw Trilogy, feature both Tom and Conrad. They are slightly more thriller-oriented than crime, and are definitely not fantasy!

You don’t need to read these books to enjoy either A Serpent in Paradise or The Thirteenth Witch. They’re available at a reduced price on Amazon. Click on the cover to find out more:

A Piece of Blue Sky Cover
A Piece of Blue Sky

Green 4 Danger Cover
Green for Danger

In The Red Corner Cover
In the Red Corner