WELCOME to my books

Enjoy Crime? Try the DCI TOM MORTON books.

Is Urban Fantasy your cup of tea? Then it’s the CONRAD CLARKE / KING’S WATCH series.

Want to know where they came from? Fancy a fast-paced conspiracy Thriller? Discover the OPERATION JIGSAW trilogy.

Tom Morton

Diffident and always feeling guilty about something, Tom Morton knows that he is a detective with something to prove. His promotion to DCI came with a price — he has to go where he’s sent and make the best of  a bad job.

These are Tom’s first solo cases. Click the covers for more details:

Book Cover: A Serpent in Paradise
A Serpent in Paradise

Tom is sent to the exclusive gated community of 7Bridge in Cheshire to keep the peace and soon finds himself battling to keep an innocent man out of jail when everyone else would rather lock the door and throw away the key.

Book Cover: Another Place to Die
Another Place to Die

When an alleged gangster is murdered in Southport, Tom is sent to solve a crime that no one cares about with a team of misfits that no one wants.

The new adventure, The End of Duty will be published in 2017.  Scroll down to see Tom’s earlier adventures in the Operation Jigsaw Trilogy.

Conrad Clarke / The King’s Watch

Now Available on Amazon…

Did you know the gods could use mobile phones?

No? Me neither.

Meet Conrad Clarke, former RAF pilot and alleged gangster. He wants to start a new life with a clean slate and all his sins excused, but someone has been watching him. Someone has plans for Conrad. His new life won’t be at all what he imagined

A shadowy Phantom who calls himself Allfather pays Conrad a visit and gives him the key to unlock a universe of magick. Before you can say Ragnarok, Conrad is plunged into a world of gods, Mages, Witches, Dwarves and one rather aggressive giant mole.

He also has a mission: to seek a commission in the King’s Watch.

Discover more by clicking on the covers…


Cover for the 13th Witch by Mark Hayden
The 13th Witch – The First Book of the King’s Watch


Cover for the 12 Dragons of Albion by Mark Hayden
The Twelve Dragons of Albion – The Second Book of the King’s Watch

And if you’ve read the books, you’ll know that there’s a promise of a philosophical discussion. I hate to disappoint my readers, so click on the image:

Do we have free will?


Operation Jigsaw

Once Upon a Time…

My first three published novels, the Operation Jigsaw Trilogy, feature both Tom and Conrad. They are slightly more thriller-oriented than crime, and are definitely not fantasy!

You don’t need to read these books to enjoy either A Serpent in Paradise or The Thirteenth Witch. They’re available at a reduced price on Amazon. Click on the cover to find out more:

A Piece of Blue Sky Cover
A Piece of Blue Sky
Green 4 Danger Cover
Green for Danger
In The Red Corner Cover
In the Red Corner